BALSAC offers the service of genealogical reconstitution within the framework of research projects. These reconstitutions are made from a set of probands (subject) who constitute the starting points of genealogies. For probands of French-Canadian ancestry, where we have the information of parents married before 1965, the reconstitutions are usually done without too much intervention since BALSAC contains all marriages registered in the Catholic registers before this date. For the other probands, it may be necessary to resort to external sources, which increases the amount of work done manually and thus the time required for reconstitution.

The reconstitutions carried out at BALSAC only take into account the biological ancestors of the individuals. Thus the genealogies of adopted probands are automatically classified as insoluble. In most cases, the genealogical lines go back to the first arrivals on the Quebec territory or to their immediate ancestors outside of Quebec. However, research is being pursued to identify up to two generations of ancestors who never came to Quebec for Franco-Ontarians, New Brunswickers, Acadians and French-Canadian emigrants from New England, because, as we have seen with the data included in BALSAC, these populations are likely to make several trips back and forth to Quebec.

Certain basic criteria must be met in order for probands of a research project to be selected as a starting point for a genealogy. The surname, first name and date of birth must be provided as well as the surname and first name of at least one parent. If only one parent is known, his or her date of birth or the identity of the grandparents (parents of that parent) must absolutely be provided. Participant records that do not meet these criteria are automatically classified as insoluble.

Limitations in database coverage may also make the genealogies of some contemporary probands of a research project insoluble. The BALSAC database exhaustively covers marriages recorded in Quebec Catholic registers up to 1965. Civil unions and marriages recorded in non-Catholic registers are only partially covered. After 1965, coverage is partial. It is therefore strongly encouraged to include, at a minimum, grandparents of project probands who were born after 1965. If grandparents are not known, genealogies can still be investigated. However, these surveys involve the use of external sources, which makes the reconstruction time longer.

  • For probands born between 1966 and 1984, the parents' marriage can generally be found in external sources if it is not in BALSAC. If only the civil copy of the marriage is found, the genealogies cannot be reconstructed since the parents of the married couple are not mentioned in the civil status forms for this period.
  • For probands born between 1985 and 1999, the marriage of the parents can be sought. However, it is important to take into account that births to unmarried people are increasingly common. Also, the civil status forms mention the parents for this period. Note that for probands born in the 1990s, even grandparents' marriages may be outside the BALSAC coverage period. Several files may therefore be insoluble.
  • Records of probands born in 2000 or later for whom only the parents are known are automatically classified as insoluble because the proportion of births out of wedlock is too high.

For all these reasons, probands' files are sometimes partially completed (e.g., only maternal grandparents are located). The level of completeness reached in the genealogical corpus can therefore be significantly impacted.

For research projects involving Quebecers who are not subject to Catholic marriage:

  • Genealogies can be reconstructed without problems, but the time required for reconstructions is increased since the non-Catholic portion of the population is only partially covered in the database. Some research in external sources is therefore required.

For research projects involving people of French-Canadian ancestry outside Quebec (Franco-Ontarians, Franco-Americans, etc.) :

  • It is usually possible to link probands to the database. However, the range of external sources available for consultation is less extensive than for Quebec. It is therefore desirable that the questionnaires be as exhaustive as possible.
  • Since the database covers Quebec, a maximum number of generations must be defined by the researcher in order to link the genealogical information collected from the applicants to BALSAC, generation 1 being that of the applicants' parents. Genealogies that could not be linked to this threshold will be classified as insoluble.
    • If three generations are chosen, records for which no trace of the parents, grandparents or great-grandparents has been found in Quebec will be classified as insoluble. If a presence is found in Quebec, only those branches for which a presence in Quebec is found will be reconstructed.

For research projects with family pedigrees :

  • The family identifier can be added to the result files produced in addition to the individual identifier of the probands. This identifier must be provided by the researcher.
  • If two applicants are related by a parental relationship (parent/child, grandparent/grandchild, etc.), only the younger proposer should be selected as an applicant.
    • If a son and grandfather are both probands, only the son should be included in the list of probands. The grandfather's genealogy is contained in the grandson's genealogy.
  • If two probands are cousins, they must both be included in the list of starting points.
  • Several siblings may be on the same probands list. However, the time required for reconstitutions will be increased and will involve additional costs.

BALSAC offre le service de reconstitution généalogique dans le cadre de projets de recherche. Ces reconstitutions se font à partir d’un ensemble de proposants (sujet) qui constituent les points de départ des généalogies. Pour les proposants d’ascendance canadienne-française, où l’on possède les informations de parents mariés avant 1965, les reconstitutions se font habituellement sans trop d’intervention puisque BALSAC contient l’ensemble des mariages enregistrés dans les registres catholiques avant cette date. Pour les autres proposants, il peut être nécessaire d’avoir recours à des sources externes ce qui augmente la part du travail réalisé manuellement et donc le temps de reconstitution.

Les reconstitutions réalisées à BALSAC tiennent uniquement compte des ancêtres biologiques des individus. Ainsi les généalogies de proposants adoptés sont automatiquement classées comme insolubles. Dans la plupart des cas, les lignées généalogiques remontent jusqu’aux premiers arrivants sur le territoire québécois ou à leurs ancêtres immédiats à l’extérieur du Québec. Les recherches sont toutefois poursuivies afin d’identifier jusqu’à deux générations d’ancêtres jamais venus au Québec pour les Franco-Ontariens, les Néo-Brunswickois, les Acadiens et les émigrés canadiens-français de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, car comme nous avons pu le constater avec les données incluses dans Balsac, ces populations sont susceptibles de faire plusieurs allers-retours au Québec.

Certains critères de base doivent être atteints pour que les proposants d’un projet de recherche soient retenus comme points de départ d’une généalogie. Le nom, le prénom et la date de naissance doivent absolument être fournis ainsi que le nom et le prénom d’au moins un parent. Si un seul parent est connu, sa date de naissance ou l’identité des grands-parents (parents de ce parent) doit absolument être fournie. Les dossiers de participants qui ne répondent pas à ces critères sont automatiquement classés comme insolubles.

Les limites de couverture de la base de données peuvent également faire en sorte que les généalogies de certains proposant contemporains d’un projet de recherche soient insolubles. La base de données BALSAC couvre de façon exhaustive les mariages consignés dans les registres catholiques du Québec jusqu’en 1965. Les unions civiles et les mariages enregistrés dans les registres non catholiques ne sont que partiellement couverts. Après 1965, la couverture est partielle. Il est donc fortement encouragé d’inclure au minimum les grands-parents des proposants d’un projet qui sont nés après 1965. Si les grands-parents ne sont pas connus, les généalogies peuvent tout de même être enquêtées. Ces enquêtes impliquent toutefois le recours à des sources externes qui rend le temps de reconstitution plus long.

  • Pour des proposants nés entre 1966 et 1984, le mariage des parents peut généralement être retrouvé dans des sources externes, s’il n’est pas dans BALSAC. Si seule la copie civile du mariage est retrouvée, les généalogies ne peuvent pas être reconstituées puisque les parents des mariés ne sont pas mentionnés dans les formulaires de l’état civil pour cette période.
  • Pour des proposant nés entre 1985 et 1999, le mariage des parents peut être recherché. Il est toutefois important de prendre en compte que les naissances chez les gens non mariés sont de plus en plus fréquentes. Les formulaires de l’état civil mentionnent toutefois les parents pour cette période. À noter que pour des proposants nés dans les années 1990, même les mariages de grands-parents peuvent se retrouver en dehors de la période de couverture de BALSAC. Plusieurs dossiers peuvent donc être insolubles.
  • Les dossiers de proposants nés en 2000 ou après dont seuls les parents sont connus sont automatiquement classés comme insolubles, la proportion de naissances hors mariage y étant trop élevée.

Pour toutes ces raisons, les dossiers de proposants ne sont parfois que partiellement complétés (p. ex. : seuls les grands-parents maternels sont retrouvés). Le niveau de complétude atteint dans le corpus généalogique peut donc être significativement impacté.

Pour les projets de recherche impliquant des Québécois qui ne sont pas sujet de mariage catholique:

  • Les généalogies peuvent être reconstituées sans problème, mais le temps nécessaire aux reconstitutions est augmenté puisque la tranche non catholique de la population n’est que partiellement couverte dans la base de données. Certaines recherches dans des sources externes sont donc requises.

Pour les projets de recherche impliquant des proposants d’ascendance canadienne-française hors Québec (Franco-Ontariens, Franco-Américains, etc.) :

  • Il est généralement possible de rattacher des proposants à la base de données. L’éventail de sources externes disponibles à la consultation est toutefois moins étendu que pour le Québec. Il est donc souhaitable que les questionnaires soient le plus exhaustifs possible.
  • Comme la base de données couvre le Québec, un nombre de générations maximal de recherche doit être défini par le chercheur pour rattacher les informations généalogiques recueillies auprès des proposants à BALSAC, la génération 1 étant celle des parents des proposants. Les généalogies qui n’ont pas pu être rattachées à ce seuil seront classées comme insolubles.
    • Si un nombre de trois générations est choisi, les dossiers pour lesquels aucune trace des parents, grands-parents ou arrière-grands-parents n’a été trouvée au Québec seront classés comme insolubles. Si une présence est retrouvée au Québec, seules les branches pour lesquelles une présence au Québec est retrouvée seront reconstituées.

Pour les projets de recherche comportant des pedigrees familiaux :

  • L’identifiant familial peut être ajouté aux fichiers de résultats produits en plus de l’identifiant individuel des proposants. Cet identifiant doit être fourni par le chercheur.
  • Si deux proposants sont liés par une relation parentale (parent/enfant, grand-parent/petit-enfant, etc.), seul le proposant le plus jeune doit être retenu comme proposant.
    • Si un fils et son grand-père sont tous deux proposants, seul le fils doit être inclus dans la liste des proposants. La généalogie du grand-père est contenue dans la généalogie du petit-fils.
  • Si deux proposants sont cousins, ils doivent tous les deux être inclus dans la liste des points de départ.
  • Plusieurs membres d’une fratrie peuvent faire partie de la même liste des proposants, cependant le temps nécessaire aux reconstitutions sera toutefois augmenté et impliquera des coûts supplémentaires.